Rio de Janeiro.

This past weekend was the first time since I’ve been in Brazil that I really felt like I was in Brazil. Rio de Janeiro. What images come to mind you when you think of this city? White sandy beaches, sweet exotic drinks, intricate dances, and variations in skin colors? Rio is all of that and more. Just like in Natal, in Rio I am able to seamlessly blend in without a glance. Only difference is that in Rio, I actually feel like I belong and not out of place. The smells, the people, everything is exactly what I imagined. The culture is amazing and indescribable. ( A picture is worth a thousand words right? See Below.) It’s a pulsing city that is rich in culture. I really do like Natal, but there is nothing more than being in a large bustling city. I’m definitely a city girl in my heart. I was able to ride the subway (!!!) after 3 months of crazy bus rides, I could choose between Thai, Mexican and Italian food and it was great seeing a mix of people from all walks of life. Again, I only saw Rio from the tourist perspective and I am definitely curious to see it as a carioca…That’s why I’m going back in 3 weeks : ))))))IMG_2191 2

IMG_2208
Construction is always happening. I got a dope view with a cool wall as well.
IMG_2216 2
Jesus in the clouds.
IMG_2234
Going Down!
IMG_2239
The Botanical Garden is like an oasis in Rio. We walked through it for hours and it didn’t even feel like we were in a major city

IMG_2243

IMG_2246
When the lighting hits you…
IMG_2277
Live Samba Music!
IMG_2298
And there He is.

IMG_2299

IMG_2303
Me and some ETA’s
IMG_2316
Look Familiar?

IMG_2322

IMG_2324
So many cool tiles!

IMG_2334IMG_2336IMG_2351IMG_2357

IMG_2360
We made the taxi driver stop so Priscilla could take a picture with this. He couldn’t help but laugh at our excitement.

IMG_2361

IMG_2378
We were able to watch some amazing dancers. This is a type of dance called Jongo which is popular in black communities in Southeast Brazil. When I watched I couldn’t help but notice the links to Ethiopian dances, caribbean soca, and bollywood. I encourage you to look up some dances!
IMG_2155
Greetings from the airport.
IMG_2196
Pão De Acucar. (Sugar Loaf Mountain)
IMG_2185
We met these Swedish girls in Natal, and we were able to go out and explore Rio with them before they returned back to Sweden.
IMG_2188
Rio was great, because I got to meet up with other ETA’s from all over Brazil.

IMG_2166

IMG_2157
Always drinking.

IMG_2159

IMG_2215
Breathtaking views.

IMG_2179IMG_2158

One thought on “Rio de Janeiro.

Leave a Reply

